Maritime University Begins Academic Programme With 13 Courses

* Gets NUC’s Approval

Maritime University, Okerenkoko, Delta State


With the final approval for its take-off now granted by the National Universities Commission, the Maritime University, Okerenkoko, Delta State will commence its academic programmes with 13 courses in three faculties.

The Senior Special Assistant to the Vice-President on Media and Publicity, Mr. Laolu Akande, disclosed this in a statement on Wednesday.

Akande said the institution, which was established in line with the present administration’s new vision to develop the Niger Delta region, would commence undergraduate degree programmes effective from the 2017/2018 academic session.

He disclosed that the NUC approved that academic activities commence in three faculties of the institution.

He listed the three faculties to include Transport, Engineering and Environmental Management.

The Faculty of Transport, according to him, has four departments that include Nautical Science, Transport Logistics Management, Marine Economics and Finance, and Port Management.

He said that the Faculty of Engineering has five departments - Marine Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Petroleum and Gas Engineering. The four departments in the Faculty of Environmental Management are Environmental Management and Pollution, Meteorology and Climate Change, Fisheries and Aquaculture, and Marine Geology.

He added that the university would be extended all privileges accorded to other federal universities in the country.