Amaechi Inaugurates Boards Of Agencies Under Transport Ministry

• CRFFN Misses Out

Transportation Minister, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi


Story By Roland Ekama.


Transportation Minister, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, will on Friday inaugurate the boards of agencies under the supervision of the ministry.

A statement signed by the permanent secretary of the ministry, S. Zakari, says board members have been invited for documentation on Thursday with copies of their Curriculum Vitae and any means of identification.

The agencies whose boards are expected to be inaugurated include the Nigerian Shippers’ Council, (NSC), National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA), Maritime Academy of Nigeria (MAN), Oron, Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) and the National Institute of Transport Technology (NITT), Zaria.

But barring any further development, the CRFFN board may not be inaugurated alongside others until an election is organized to elect a chairman.

Recall that the Presidency, in December 2017, appointed six persons as members of the board without a chairman. Those appointed include, Alhaji Tijani Moshood, Donatus Ozoemena, and Benson Edosomwan. Others are Bisi Oyewo, Abubakar Tsanni, and Hassan Jonga.

To constitute a governing board for the CRFFN, eight persons are expected to be elected by registered freight forwarders from cargo airports, eastern and western ports and land borders.

Others to be appointed are two from higher institutions, a representative each from the ministries of finance, education, transportation and the Nigeria Customs Service.

Also in the board are representatives from the Nigerian Ports Authority, Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority, Nigerian Railway Corporation and the National Association of Chambers of Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA).